Good Bye to Year 2011

Year 2011 was indeed a year full of Exciting happening. From Arab Uprisings to Royal Wedding and to Assassination. But this year the field of Technology and Science in general heaved heavy loss of some of the greatest Pioneers passing away. This post is dedicated as a tribute to the persons who made a great impact of todays technology and Science :

Steve Jobs (February 24, 1955 – October 5, 2011) Apple Founder

Dennis MacAlistair Ritchie (September 9, 1941 – October 12, 2011) Founder of C & Co-Founder of UNIX

John McCarthy (September 4, 1927 – October 24, 2011) Pioneer of Artificial Intellegence (AI) & reciept of Turing Award

Robert William “Bob” Galvin (October 9, 1922 – October 11, 2011) Motorol Ex-CEO & pioneer of Six-Sigma

Gerald Anderson “Jerry” Lawson (December 1, 1940 – April 9, 2011) Video Game Developer

Robert Morris (July 25, 1932 – June 26, 2011) Cryptographer & Pioneer of Information Security

Paul Baran (1926–2011) Inventer of Packet Switching Technique & First Metal Detector

Anthony E. Siegman (1931–2011) Pioneer of Masers and Lasers.

Ralph Marvin Steinman (January 14, 1943 – September 30, 2011) 2011 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (posthumous)
Simon van der Meer (24 November 1925 – 4 March 2011)  Nobel Prize in Physics & accelerator physicists who discovered W and Z bosons
Baruch Samuel “Barry” Blumberg (July 28, 1925 – April 5, 2011)  Nobel Prize in Medicine (1976) for ‘discoveries concerning new mechanisms for the origin and dissemination of infectious diseases’ also identified the Hepatitis B virus, and later developed its diagnostic test and vaccine.
Willard Sterling Boyle (August 19, 1924 – May 7, 2011) co-inventor of the charge-coupled device and reciept of 2009 Nobel Prize in Physics for “the invention of an imaging semiconductor circuit—the CCD sensor”
Rosalyn Sussman Yalow (July 19, 1921 – May 30, 2011)  Co-winner of the 1977 Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine (together with Roger Guillemin and Andrew Schally) for development of the radioimmunoassay (RIA) technique.
Rudolf Ludwig Mössbauer (January 31, 1929 – September 14, 2011) A German physicist best known for his 1957 discovery of recoilless nuclear resonance fluorescence for which he was awarded the 1961 Nobel Prize in Physics.
Har Gobind Khorana also known as Hargobind Khorana (January 9, 1922 – November 9, 2011) A Indian-born American biochemist who shared the Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine in 1968 with Marshall W. Nirenberg and Robert W. Holley for research that helped to show how the nucleotides in nucleic acids, which carry the genetic code of the cell, control the cell’s synthesis of proteins.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s